Farewell Creative Writing

Dear Creative Writing,

This year has been an amazing year, especially in this class. I’ve found what I do and do not enjoy when it comes to writing. Throughout this year I have discovered that I love writing poetry, even if when reading other poems written by poets I may not understand what is being said. I have found a way to release everything locked up inside and turned it into words and characters and advice and overall just an outlet. I’ve learned many ways to strengthen my writing by adding more description and emotion and plot. I’ve learned how even little things such as how you makeĀ  the reader perceive what the setting may look like, can change the mood of the story. My favorite part of this class was towards the beginning when we would write these long fictional pieces in our journals. It really gave me a chance to be free with my writing. I could create characters however I wanted and could make up this whole fantasy world. I liked taking what we learned in class about writing an applying it to film studies as well like we did with The Princess Bride, The Corpse Bride, and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. With those films we applied how setting, color, and language affected the storyline and mood. This year I’ve learned how it’s important to find a way to release all of the extra thoughts that are crowding your brain, and I started releasing these thoughts through my writing. Outside of class I now write poems and short stories, that I’ll probably never share, but that keep me at ease. So thank you to Creative Writing, and thank you Mrs. Henderson, for expanding my writing skills as well as for sparking something inside me that inspired me to write more.

Sincerely,

Kylie S.

Mailbox Eric.Ray via Compfight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *